They put a Voice in my Head

And it said

I could   be Anyone

go Anywhere

do Anything

But first I had to listen

at Home

at School

And do only as They said.


 

They put a Voice in my Head

And it said

I had to memorise

regurgitate

revise

And that was how to make

a living

wage packet

And that was how to make a life.

 


 

They put a Voice in my Head

And it said

That       I should study

I should marry

I should worry

About everything I did

or didn’t

do quite right

And learn to take the blame.

 


 

They put a Voice in my Head

And it said

To take the Good and Bad

I took the Good

I found the Bad

I kept Alive and cleaned up Blood

And the

Voice said

I shouldn’t shed skin or tears.

 


 

They put a Voice in my Head

And it said

It wasn’t Good enough

To be my Self

Or do my Best

So I gave up; and hid Inside.

Now I don’t know

What I should do

And They all wonder why.

